Richmond Munster Minor Hockey Association



Draft Minutes 2021 AGM

Wednesday April 28, 2021 7pm, Webex

Meeting called to order at 7:04pm by John Sunstrum

Opening Remarks

Discussion on how to use online meeting space Welcome to all **Introduction of Special Guests** Matt Klassen - Romans Tom Stephens- representing LCMHL and District Glenn Austin - D4 Chair Bob Easy - Lifetime member Bob Pershick - Lifetime member Kevin Bean - Osgoode Minor Hockey Cam Legault - Osgoode Minor Hockey

Agenda

Call to Order - John Sunstrum Introduction of Special Guests - John Sunstrum Platform / Voting - Matt Covey RMMHA Board Introduction - Matt Covey Questions/Approval Minutes of 19 & 20 AGM - Matt Covey Opening Remarks - John Sunstrum Thanks to our Sponsors - John Sunstrum Awards Announcement - Craig Dunn Q&A Director's Reports and General - Matt Covey Motion for changing Constitution - John Sunstrum Election of Officers - John Sunstrum Other Items - John Sunstrum Closing - John Sunstrum

Motion by Matthew Covey to accept agenda, second by Andy Castellarin, Vote held, passed unanimously.

Introduction of the current Board of Directors presented by Matthew Covey

Thank you to Sponsors

Questions on minutes from 2019 AGM

None

Motion by Matthew Covey to accept 2019 AGM minutes, second by Kerry Visutski, Vote held, passed unanimously.

Questions on minutes from 2020 AGM

None

Motion by Matthew Covey to accept 2020 AGM minutes with amendment to remove John MacEwen as special guest and add Glenn Austin, second by Kerry Visutski, Vote held, passed unanimously.

Opening Remarks from John Sunstrum:

Thank you to

- Board members
- Chris H for jerseys
- District Tim Sheehan and Glenn Austin
- Tom Stephens
- Coaches, Trainers and Managers
- All volunteers
- Community
- Safety Officers

Great year given what occurred and we always tried to keep hockey as an option for young members of our community.

HEO/HEO Minor merged this year

Hoping 2021/2022 will be good year and we can look forward to Atom Pathways, full replacement of sweaters in Richmond

Presentation of Awards/Trophies

Recognized Dawn Barkley may be in attendance.

Award	Summary
Dwaine Barkley Memorial Trophy (Volunteer of the Year)	Individual demonstrating exceptional volunteer contributions at the team or association level

Questions on Directors Reports as published to RMMHA website Monday April 26, 2021

None

Motions to be considered

Motion by Matthew Covey, second by Craig Dunn to amend the constitution to remove the Director of Canteen Operations position from Constitution pending a 30-day public posting to the general RMMHA membership with no dissension to this change to the Constitution. **Vote passed** with 17/24 votes however 2 can't vote so 17/22 and the others didn't vote so 5 abstained , vote passed 77%

Motion by Matthew Covey, second by Lou Matura to amend the Constitution Article 9a: as read currently: All cheques drawn on the association account shall require the signatures of the president and treasurer of the Association.

to be changed to: All cheques drawn on the association account shall require two signatures of the president, Vice President - House, Vice President - Competitive, or Treasurer pending a 30-day public posting to the general RMMHA membership with no dissension to this change to the Constitution.

Mike Houser asked question about need to have Treasurer or President as one of two always as signatories. John S, Matt C and Erica L replied, explained need. Sometimes need to reimburse Treasurer, can't have them sign, could have situation where someone (due to Covid) not able to sign so need alternate, general board discussion occurred on matter, Treasurer controls cheques and almost all are controlled by Treasurer.

Vote passed with 16/24 votes however 2 can't vote so 16/22 and the others didn't vote so 6 abstained , vote passed $66.66\% = \frac{2}{3}$ so just meets threshold

Motion by Matthew Covey, second by Andy Castellarin to amend the constitution Article 20(d) currently read: Twenty (30) days' notice of proposed amendments to the Constitution or By-laws shall be provided to all members of the Association. Change the word "Twenty" to "Thirty" pending a 30-day public posting to the general RMMHA membership with no dissension to this change to the Constitution.

Vote passed with 17/24 votes however 2 can't vote so 17/22 and the others didn't vote so 5 abstained , vote passed 77%

Elections for the Board of Directors

Position	Nominee	Nomination by	Second by	Accepted?
President*	Craig Dunn	John Sunstrum	Andy Castellarin	Accepted
Secretary	None			
Director of Risk and Safety	Darren White	Jim Wallace	Trevor Rotar	Accepted
Vice President of House	None			
Director of Equipment	None			
Director of Competitive	Martin Bouchard	Craig Dunn	Andy Castellarin	Accepted
Director of Fundraising	None			
Ice Scheduler	Michael Houser	Jeff Quarrington	Pat Kelahear	Accepted
Director of Communications and Public Relations	John Kean	Craig Dunn	Andy Castellarin	Accepted
Director Tournaments	None			
Asst Director of Hockey Operations	Jim Wallace	Darren White	James Chant	Accepted
* Denotes one year term				

The following board positions were filled by nomination prior to the board meeting.

Nominations received for vacant positions from the meeting attendees:

Craig Dunn nominated Matt Covey for Secretary, Kevin O'Brien second, Matt accepted no other nominations for Secretary

Andy Castellarin nominated Dave Simmonds for VP - House, Second by John Kean, Dave accepted, no other nominations for VP - House

Closing

- Comments were made by John Sunstrum in closing regarding the following matters:
 - Sweaters and equipment of RMMHA we will arrange returns as soon as possible and when permissible. In the meantime please take care of everything.

Motion to adjourn meeting by Erica Leveque at 7:44PM seconded by John Kean, motion passed by those in attendance.